I’ve been looking for reasons why my Turkish learning doesn’t flow as successfully as my Spanish learning, and I think I know the reason: I need to watch some Turkish football (soccer)!

One of the biggest reason I learned Spanish was because I love watching Spanish football, La Liga (I’m a Real Madrid fan ­čśÇ ). It never gets boring when I read football news in Spanish. So… to apply the same method to Turkish, I am now a ┬áFenerbah├že fan!

Fenerbah├že ┬áis one of the most successful team in Turkey. Even though it’s in off season right now, I’m going to try to learn as much as I can about it, and attempt to pick out familiar words in Turkish football news.

I also talked to some of my Turkish friends, and a lot of them seem to be fans of that team as well. Of course, we spoke mainly in Turkish.

For example, on Facebook I asked one of my friend: “Fenerbah├žeyi seviyor musun?” Which means “Do you like Fenerbah├že?”

In fact, you can apply this sentence structure to a lot of things that you can ask. “Kalemi seviyor musun?” or “Filmi seviyor musun?” Substitution is a great way to create more sentence from what you’ve already known.

