Today’s missions:

  • Unit 6 of FSI Language course
  • study song lyrics
I am finally done with the busy-ness of last week, and now on track back to learning Turkish!
Phew it has been quite a while, but surprisingly my Turkish is still fresh in memory. I started the day off with listening to Unit 6 of FSI, and then I found a Turkish song I really like.
Learning song lyrics is a method I learned from blogger Andrew, who helped me learned Spanish with Shakira lyrics.
The following song is called Suya Hapsettim. Suya means in water, hapsettim kinda means (as my Turkish friend tried to explain) “I trap”, or “I imprison”. explain). So Suya Hapsettim = I Trapped You In the Water.
I found Turkish and English version of lyrics from allthelyrics.com. Over the next few days, I’m going to try to memorize the lyrics and sing it constantly. Also, be sure to keep listening, as this will help you familiarize with the Turkish accents.
Lyrics:
Ne aşklar ne de itiraflar
There is no love, no confession
Ne adres ne boş sokaklar
There is no address, how empty streets are
CHORUS:
Sormadan bulamadım
Without looking for (something), I could not find (it)
Belki de ben yolumu kaybettim
Perhaps I have lost my way
Okusam da söyleyemem adını
Even though I read, I am unable to say your name
Çünkü ben seni suya hapsettim
Because I have confined you to the water
Ezberledim ben okuya okuya
I have memorised (my lessons in life) by reading and reading
Bir türlü sana öğretemedim
(but) I could not teach you in any possible way
Geceler boyu dizlerinin dibinde
All the nights, right beside you
Uykum kaçsa bile uyanamadım
Even though the sleep ran away (my eyes), I could not wake up either
Ne kuşlar ne de o ağaçlar
There is no bird, no tree
Görmeden geçirdiğim o sabah var
(but) There is that morning when I have passed without seeing (you or anything)
Aşk diye diye kendimden bile bile
Vazgeçtim derken yolu kaybettim
For the sake of love, I have given up on myself, just then I have lost the way
Ağlasam da söyleyemem derdimi
Even if I cry, I cannot say (anything) about my pain
Çünkü ben seni suya hapsettim
Because I have confined you to the water
