Today’s mission:

  • understand how to form a sentence correctly with a verb
  • increase vocabulary
First, some corrections on yesterday’s post (btw I’ll be doing corrections a lot… for obvious reasons 😀 )
SO THAT STUFF I WROTE LAST WAS WRONG! TOTALLY WRONG! 
So to say ” I am beautiful”, you say “Ben güzilim
^ WRONG WRONG WRONG 

 It should actually be Ben güzelim. With e, not i. Hey, at least I learned something 😀
Ok, onwards…
Vocab:
The Turkish friend that I made sent me a list of important vocab/verbs to know (thanks Elif!). In addition, I added some that I thought would be helpful.
How to pronounce these? Turkish words are surprisingly easy to pronounce. EVERY letter in a word has a distinct sound, and is ALWAYS pronounced, and ALWAYS sounds the same no matter where it is placed.  In all honestly, the words are sound pretty much the same as how they look.
I learned pronunciation from this guide.
Also, I didn’t learn everything from this list yet (honestly, I only know like 5. But when I go chat with Turkish natives, I keep the list handy and try to make sentences from them). Over the next few days, try to memorize them all.
Nouns:
Car: Araba
Telephone : Telefon
Pencil : Kalem
TV : Televizyon
Table : Masa
Chair : Sandalye
Glass: Bardak
Coffee : Kahve
Computer : Bilgisayar
Food : yemek
Verbs (remember all the -mek at the end of the verbs kinda mean “to- _:
To eat : Yemek
To drink : İçmek
To buy: Almak
To want: İstemek
To look: Bakmak
To write : Yazmak
To explain : Anlatmak
To speak : Konuşmak
To do : Yapmak
To find : Bulmak
To go : Gitmek
To come : Gelmek
To wear : Giymek 
To kiss : Öpmek
To watch : İzlemek
To say : Söylemek
To know : Bilmek
To see : Görmek
Where : Nerede
Which : Hangisi
What : Ne
Why : Neden
How : Nasıl
Who : Kim 
(Study those a bit each day.)
Sentence structure:
I also chatted with a Turkish native for over 2 hours today, asking for correction on the sentences I am forming (Go do the same!) It’s day 3, I already feel like I have a pretty good command of the language!
Yesterday I learned how to form a sentence with an adjective, no verb involved ( In Turkish, to describe something, you don’t need a verb. “I am beautiful” is just literally “I beautiful”, no verbs needed) Ok, here’s what I learned about sentence formation WITH verbs.
For present tense, you add -er/-ar/-ır/-ir/-ur/-ür to the end of the verb depending on the vowel inside the verb. After that, you add respective endings related to who is doing the verb, just like we did last time.
Take a random verb from the above list of verbs, let’s use “to do”, yapmak.
I do – Ben yaparim
to form the sentence, you take the verb yapmak, take off the -mak, add the present tense ending (in this case –ar), and finally the ending for I, which is -im.
Why use –ar? Because of the vowel in the verb. Since the vowel is a, you use ar.
If the vowel is u, you use ur
If the vowel is ü, you use ür
If the vowel is ö, you also use ür
If the vowel is i, you use ir
If the vowel is e, you also use ir
If the vowel is ı, you use ır
You do – Ben yaparsin.
Read this article for more detailed description.
Also, go online and chat with Turkish people! Try to make a few sentences with what you’ve learned so far.
Another interesting thing, I ACTUALLY MET A TURKISH PERSON IN MY SCHOOL! hi Yusuf!
He helped me practice a bunch of sentences. I would make a random sentence, and he would correct me on it. (Most of the time, I made a mistake. But after a while, I started to get the hang of it and made fewer ones!). I also talked to him over lunch about various Turkish cultural things, for example how Turkish women don’t smile at men they do not know and always keeps it formal until they get to know each other better.
He also helped correct some mistakes in my blog entires (Seriously, I made 4-5 mistakes just in this post alone, lol. thanks Yusuf!)
Here’s an image of my notes during my practice with Yusuf

